Who are your Councillors?

Your community councillors are all volunteers, who give their time without remuneration to help initiatives and good causes in Dunbar, and endeavour to influence good decision-making.They represent a cross section of the community, as you will see in the profiles below:

Stephen Bunyan    Stephen Bunyan (Chairman) was involved in the discussions that led to the setting up of community councils, under the Local Government Scotland Act in 1973. He has been involved with the Community Council (CC) since its inception in 1976, most of the time as chairman, and attends many meetings on the CC’s behalf. He spent most of his career as Principal Teacher of History at Dunbar Grammar School, and served one term as a Councillor on East Lothian District Council.  He was appointed as a Deputy Lieutenant for East Lothian in June 97, retiring in 2008.

Jacquie Bell   Jacquie Bell (Secretary) was a member of Dunbar CC from 2000-07 and returned in May 2012. From 2007-2012 she was an elected member of East Lothian Council for Dunbar & East Linton Ward. She belongs to a number of Dunbar community groups. Originally from Sheffield, Jacquie has lived with her family in Belhaven since 1989. She is a qualified Social Worker and works at Liberton Hospital.

George Robertson   George Robertson (Vice Chair and Website)  was born and raised in Belhaven, Dunbar. He attended Dunbar Grammar School and Edinburgh University before joining the Royal Air Force as a pilot. He left the RAF in 1980 in the rank of Wing Commander to continue his flying career a civil airline captain. His final appointment was as Pilot Training Manager for easyJet. He is chairperson of the Dunbar West End Neighbourhood Watch.

Will Collin   Will Collin and his wife, Val, came to live in Dunbar in 1977 and are still here. Will has been on the CC since he retired from Dunbar Grammar School, as Head Teacher, in 1997. He represents the CC on the John Muir Birthplace Trust, Dunbar Primary School Parents Council, John Muir Country Park Advisory Group and BeGreen Dunbar and District steering group. Will believes strongly in ‘local community planning’ giving Dunbar folk more say in Dunbar decisions. He thinks that the Community Council and our elected EL Councillors should be at the centre of this.

Herbert Coutts   Herbert Coutts was successively an archaeologist, museum director and a director of culture and has been a member of Dunbar Community Council since he took early retirement in 2007. In addition, he devotes much of his time to board membership of arts and heritage organisations. On behalf of the Order of Malta, he chairs a charitable company in central Scotland, which provides specialised transport services for people with mobility difficulties.

Gill Wilson   Gill Wilson is a retired Registered General Nurse and Health Visitor, and a passionate defender of the National Health Service. She is vice chairman of East Lothian Health Network (a Public Partnership Forum) and Belhaven Hospital Sub Group. She is also involved in the Day Centre and the Carers of East Lothian committees. Jill has been on the CC since 2008.

Pippa Swan  Pippa Swan joined the Community Council in February 2014. An architect by training, with expertise in design, master planning and conservation, Pippa now works part time. She has been a Children’s Panel member in Edinburgh since 2010 and volunteers in Dunbar as chair of the Shore and Harbour Neighbourhood Group and as vice chair of the Sea Cadets. She has a particular interest in seeing greater collaboration between volunteer groups to maximise return on effort and is an enthusiastic supporter of initiatives that will bring sustainable prosperity to Dunbar.  Her husband, Alasdair, is Chairman of Dunbar Harbour Trust.

Alasdair Swan Alasdair Swan is a Chartered Accountant now retired from the Logistics Industry.  He is married with four children and five grandchildren. As Chairman of Dunbar Harbour Trust, he is responsible for Health and Safety and the general administration of the harbours.  Other voluntary roles include that of Treasurer for Dunbar Sea Cadets and management of the Dunbar East Beach Seaside Award.  His interests include the regeneration of the Shore and Harbour neighbourhood area and golf at Dunbar. Alasdair joined Dunbar Community Council in 2015 and is our Treasurer.

  Graham Adams. Graham runs the volunteer group who look after the very successful Dunbar Christmas Lights. He is an engineer at Torness Power Station.



Ian Hamilton, whose family hails from Melrose in the Borders, arrived in Belhaven in 1986. Having originally joined the Army as a Royal Engineer, he retrained as a dentist in mid-career at Edinburgh University. Since qualifying in 1993, he worked in general practice in Duns for 7 years before rejoining the military. He has subsequently served in the UK, Germany and Brunei. Now retired (due to a back injury), he continues to lecture widely throughout the UK in his specialist field of radiography and radiation protection. He is treasurer to the League of Friends of Belhaven Hospital.


Rowena Halliday recently joined the DCC after moving to the area with her young family at the beginning of the year but has lived in East Lothian since 2012. Rowena is a corporate lawyer by training and now works in corporate governance for an asset management company in Edinburgh. About to go on maternity leave for the second time, Rowena saw this as a great opportunity to get involved in the local community. In her spare time, Rowena likes to keep fit running and swimming.